Amelia Bloomer List

Each year, the American Library Association’s (ALA) Feminist Task Force’s Amelia Bloomer Project creates this list of recommended children’s, teen, and adult books that embody feminist ideals.

American Indian Youth Literature Award

Created by the American Indian Library Association as a way to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians.

Américas Award

The Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) annually grants the Américas Award for English or Spanish language works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or non-fiction.  The Award recognizes literature that accurately represents Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

A project of the Asian/Pacific America Librarians Association, this award highlights children’s, young adult, and adult literature featuring Asian American themes.

Canadian Book Awards

The Canadian Children’s book Centre administers a number of awards including: The Geoffrey Bison Award for Historical Fiction for Young People, The John Spray Mystery Award, The Marilyn Baillee Picture Book Award, The Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction, and the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award.

Carter G. Woodson Award

This annual award honors distinguished social science books that depict ethnicity in the U.S.  The National Council for the Social Studies presents award for elementary, middle, and secondary school books.

Coretta Scott King Award

Presented annually to authors and illustrators of African decent by the Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT) of the ALA.  This award celebrates books that promote an understanding of the “American dream.”

Diverse Voices Book Award

Set up in memory of Frances Lincoln (1945-2001) to encourage and promote diversity in children’s fiction a prize of £1,500 plus the option for Janetta Otter-Barry at Frances Lincoln Children’s Books to publish the novel is awarded to the best manuscript for 8-to-12-year-olds that celebrates diversity in the widest possible sense.

Dolly Gray Award

The Dolly Gray Award recognizes children’s fiction with positive portrayals of individuals with developmental disabilities.

The Golden Baobab Prize

The Golden Baobab Prize is an African literary award established in July 2008 to encourage the writing of African literature for children and young adults.

Jane Addams Children’s Book Award

Presented annually since 1953 by the Women’s International League for Peace & Freedom and the Jane Addams Peace Association, these awards honor books that promote peace, social justice, and racial and gender equity.

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

This award, given to a black author and to a black illustrator and provided by the SRRT, is intended to recognize writers or artists at the beginning of their careers.  The award is presented annually for text and illustrations, either for one book as a whole or for individual publications.

National Jewish Book Awards

Presents annual awards for children’s books and picture books (the Louis Posner Memorial Award) that focus on Jewish themes.

Notable Books for a Global Society
Each year 25 books are selected by members of the International Reading Association’s Notable Books for a Global Society Committee. The NBGS committee considers works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry for students in grades K-12 that encourage readers to understand, accept, and celebrate cultural differences as well as recognize shared aspects of the human experience across time and space. Selected titles must be outstanding representatives of their genres and must promote an understanding of diversity both within an outside the United States, in terms of culture, race, ethnicity, gender, language, religion, social and economic status, sexual orientation, and/or physical and intellectual ability. To be eligible for selection , a trade book must have been published in the United States for the first time during the year of copyright under consideration.

Middle Eastern Book Award

Established in 1999, the Middle East Book Award recognizes quality books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to an understanding of the Middle East and its component societies and cultures. Books are judged on the authenticity of their portrayal of a Middle Eastern subject, as well as on their characterization, plot, and appeal for the intended audience.  For the purposes of this award, “The Middle East” is defined as the Arab World, Iran, Israel, Turkey, and Afghanistan.

Mildred R. Batchelder Awards

A citation awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Pura Belpré Award

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) presents this award to Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose work for children best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.

Rainbow List

Rainbow Books promotes books for young readers that reflect gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender/questioning experiences. This joint project of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender and Social Responsibilities Round Tables of the American Library Association (ALA), creates an annual book list of recommended GLBTQ fiction and nonfiction titles for young readers from birth through age 18.

Schneider Family Book Award

This is an ALA annual award that is given each year to three authors or illustrators for excellence in representing the experiences of children with disabilities.

Stonewall Book Award

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller’s Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Sydney Taylor Book Awards

Given annually by the Association of Jewish Libraries to children’s books for works that have positive Jewish content.  Awards are also given for children’s book manuscripts by unpublished authors.

Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award

This award is given annually to the author/illustrator of the most distinguished book for children and young adults that authentically reflects the lives and experiences of Mexican Americans in the Southwestern region of the United States.

Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature

The Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature is awarded to the author of a body of work in Canadian children’s literature. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards event.

Virginia Hamilton Literary Award

Conferred annually by the Virginia Hamilton Conference at Kent State University.  Presented to an author or illustrator in recognition of artistic excellence that contributes to the field of multicultural literature for children or adolescents.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email